Level 10 Level 12
Level 11

The menstrual cycle

9 words 0 ignored

Ready to learn       Ready to review

Ignore words

Check the boxes below to ignore/unignore words, then click save at the bottom. Ignored words will never appear in any learning session.

All None

The menstrual cycle
This is the monthly release of an egg from a women's ovaries and the change in the protective lining of the uterus. It has four main stages.
Stage 1, days 1-4
This is when the bleeding happens and the uterus lining breaks down
Stage 2, days 4-14
This is when the lining of the uterus builds up again and forms a thick spongy layer full of blood vessels ready to receive an egg
Stage 3, day 14
This is when the egg is released
Stage 4, days 14-28
The uterus lining is maintained and waits for a fertilised egg implant, and if there isn't one then the cycle starts again
These control the action of the difference stages
This is produced by the pituitary gland, it causes an egg to mature in the ovaries and is stimulated the ovaries to produce oestrogen
This is produced in the ovaries, it causes the pituitary gland to produce LH and inhibits the further production and release of FSH
This is produced by the pituitary gland and stimulated the release of an egg around the middle of the menstrual cycle